Stephen King’s ‘The Talisman’ Finds New Director

DD1DC584-87AA-4B18-8C35-7E51517869BC

If there’s one thing that never seems to go out of style, it is adapting a Stephen King novel into a film or TV show. In the case of The Talisman, it actually was planned for both. King and Peter Straub’s popular fantasy novel was originally planned for a TV series by Stephen Spielberg’s Amblin Entertaiment who had purchased the rights to the book. Somewhere along the way Amblin changed direction and now is adapting the story into a film. Perhaps the success of King’s IT reboot lead to their change of plans.

With their course now set, Amblin has found their Director for the project, tabbing A Handsmaids Tale veteran Mike Barker to direct from a script by Chris Sparling. Frank Marshall is producing, with Michael Wright exec producing.

The Talisman tells the tale of a 12-year-old boy named Jack Sawyer, who tries to save his mother from dying of cancer. He goes on a search to find a mysterious crystal known as “the Talisman” which he believes will cure her.  His quest leads him into an area called The Territories, a universe parallel to our own that’s full of dangers.

For fans of King and Straub’s novel, are you excited to see it adapted to film? Share that excitement with us at GVNation.

Source: DenofGeek.Com

Related Post